The Girls of Lake Evelyn by Averil Kenny

Ingrid Kluckow delves into Avril Kenny's magical writing world to discover the story behind the story.

Ingrid is an avid reader, writer, actress, yoga instructor and marketing coordinator.

Averil Kenny is a writer from Queensland. She writes women's fiction with an evocative flair, featuring strong, sassy heroines.

The Girls of Lake Evelyn is an irresistible story of love, family, women, secrets and mystery set in the lush region of tropical north Queensland. For readers of Lucinda Riley and Kate Morton.

You cannot force me to marry him. I need to be free, to figure out what I want. For once, please let me choose…

1958. When It-girl Vivienne George flees on the eve of her wedding she seeks refuge in a scheduled lodge surrounded by the lush rainforest of tropical North Queensland. There, she is relieved to find that the small farming town couldn't be further from the high society she's left behind.

Now, Vivienne spends her days swimming in the beautiful Lake Evelyn where she befriends the larger-than-life Josie. But all is not as it seems in this quiet, close-knit community.

Vivienne soon learns that over a decade earlier, Celeste Starr, a beautiful actress, died tragically in the lake's dark waters, spawning a curse that has plagued the girls of the town ever since.

Fascinated by Celeste's tale, Josie decides to stage a play about her death, with Vivienne in the lead role, setting off a chain of disturbing events . . .

Can the girls of Lake Evelyn be freed from the curse as Vivienne escapes her past?