National Assembly Programme Committee, 9th June 2022

South Africa has a bicameral Parliament (two Houses) supported by a joint administration. The National Assembly is the House directly elected by the voters, while the National Council of Provinces is elected by the provinces and represents them to ensure that provincial interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government.The National Assembly has 400 members. The number of seats that a party has in the Assembly is in proportion to the number of voters that voted for it in the elections. National Assembly is led by the Speaker. In performing his or her functions, the Speaker is assisted by the Deputy Speaker and three House Chairpersons, each with specific areas of responsibility determined by the Speaker.
28 Jun 2022 English South Africa Government · News

Other recent episodes

PLENARY (HYBRID), 27 September 2022.

Condolences for Ms A Motaung, MP (40) Consideration of Report of PC on Transport on Economic Regulation of Transport Bill [B1 – 2020] (s76) (ATC, 16 September 2022, p 4) (no debate) Second Reading debate: Economic Regulation of Transport Bill [B1B – 2020](s76(1)) (77) Consideration of Report of PC on…
10 Oct 2022 7 hr 25 min


Debate as Urgent Matter of National Public Importance (Mr L E Mcdonald): The negative impact of heavy duty trucks on the safety of commuters on the roads and the recent loss of lives (95) Questions for oral reply: (180) Cluster 5: Economics Decision of Question on draft resolution (Chief Whip…
10 Oct 2022 5 hr 28 min