National Assembly Programming Committee Meeting, 2nd June 2022

South Africa has a bicameral Parliament (two Houses) supported by a joint administration. The National Assembly is the House directly elected by the voters, while the National Council of Provinces is elected by the provinces and represents them to ensure that provincial interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government.The National Assembly has 400 members. The number of seats that a party has in the Assembly is in proportion to the number of voters that voted for it in the elections. National Assembly is led by the Speaker. In performing his or her functions, the Speaker is assisted by the Deputy Speaker and three House Chairpersons, each with specific areas of responsibility determined by the Speaker.