The Last Beekeeper by Siya Turabi

--:--
‘Reminds me of Khaled Hosseini, poignant and heartwarming… Simply a beautiful story that had me reading until 3:30 in the morning’ Sarah, NetGalley

‘I am a friend of the bees. Like you.’
‘So, you have been waiting for me?’
‘The forest has been waiting for you.’

Pakistan, 1974: The secret-wreathed trees of Harikaya have always called to Hassan. He knows if he doesn’t find the last beekeeper and salvage a precious jar of his mythical black honey before the floods come, his mother will lose her sight.

But then he wins a scholarship to study with the state governor in Karachi amidst a brewing storm of political turmoil and simmering espionage.

His entire world is turned upside down when he meets Maryam, the governor’s niece visiting from London.

All the while the fate of his mother and his promise to the bees calls him back to the forest, and so he must decide: Maryam or the beekeeper, England or Pakistan, his head or his heart.

One of the most exciting debuts of 2021, this is a lyrical historical novel of family, friendship, and self-discovery exploring the power of choice in a changing world and love in communion with nature. Perfect for fans of Christy Lefteri, Yann Martel, and Monique Roffey.
14 Mar 2022 English South Africa Books · Society & Culture

Other recent episodes

Gaslight by Femi Kayode

Thank you for tuning into this episode of Pagecast, presented by Jonathan Ball Publishers. Today's episode features Gaslight by Femi Kayode. In this follow-up to Kayode's "action-packed and spirited debut" Philip Taiwo returns to solve a missing-persons case, and in so doing, uncovers dark secrets the church has worked tirelessly…
15 Jul 43 min

High Times, by Roy Isacowitz and Jeremy Gordin

High Times is the true story of Michael Medjuck, whose taste for weed, women and the good life led him from late-1960s Johannesburg to notoriety as one of the biggest hash and weed smugglers in North America. From his base in Vancouver, Michael built up a smuggling network that supplied…
8 Jul 26 min

The Wolf Hunt by Justin Fox

Thanks for listening to this episode of Pagecast, brought to you by Jonathan Ball Publishers.  Todays episode features the phenomenal Justin Fox chatting about his latest book - The Wolf Hunt. The Wolf Hunt is the second book in the thrilling Jack Pembroke series, each of which is a stand-alone…
1 Jul 48 min

Moederland: Nine Daughters of South Africa by Cato Pedder

In this episode of Pagecast, Cato Pedder, author of Moederland: Nine Daughters of South Africa, is in conversation with Maryam Adams, Publicist at Jonathan Ball Publishers. About the book: Moederland: Nine Daughters of South Africa is a fascinating, unflinching and forensic work of non-fiction by Cato Pedder, the great-granddaughter of…
24 Jun 34 min

No One Dies Yet by Kobby Ben Ben

Thanks for listening to this episode of Pagecast, brought to you by Jonathan Ball Publishers.  Todays episode features the phenomenal Kobby Ben Ben chatting about - No One Dies Yet. A genre-breaking novel from a powerful new African voice. 2019. The Year of the Return. It has been exactly 400…
10 Jun 46 min