FMR Bursary Trust Awards - Classical

The 12th Annual Fine Music Radio Bursary Trust Awards took place at the Baxter Concert Hall in August 2021. In order to comply with the requisite number of people allowed in an indoor venue, we split the jazz and classical section over two days with no audience members allowed. This year, for the first time, the classical music section was divided into instrumentals and vocals. The winners are: in the classical vocal section Lefa Sello and in the classical instrumental section Kevin (Gyu Min) Kim on piano. Thanks to the Nussbaum foundation for generously sponsoring the R60 000 worth of prize money.
12 Sep 2021 English South Africa Music · Music Commentary

Other recent episodes

38th National Youth Music Competition

Today we present you the finals of the National Youth Music Competition for 2022 brought to you by the Friends of Orchestra Music. This competition for young musicians between 14 and 19 years of age took place at the Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre in Parow, from 5 to 10 December…
15 Jan 1 hr 57 min

Youth Classical Concert 06 Nov 22

Performing in public is a crucial element for a young musician’s development, as they leave the solitude of a practise room for a stage. Music competitions and concerts give the young performer a goal to work towards and a space to conquer difficulties and gain confidence. Thank you to all…
6 Nov 2022 1 hr 44 min

36th National Youth Music Competition

The 36th National Youth Music Competition took place in December 2021 at the Hugo Lambrechts Auditorium. There were 45 young musicians competing for cash prizes totalling R155 000. In the final round, six of South Africa’s finest rising stars from the piano, strings and wind categories performed with the Cape…
23 Jan 2022 1 hr 58 min

Youth Classical Music Competition 2021

Artscape Theatre Centre and the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra present the 50th Anniversary Youth Classical Music Concert 2021. This concert took place at Artscape in September. It showcased the exceptional talent of young instrumentalists and singers as they performed on a professional stage with the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra under…
10 Oct 2021 1 hr 59 min

The Johann Vos Music Competition

The Johann Vos Music Competition took place on 31 August and 1 Sepember at Bellville High School in collaboration with the Hugo Lambrechts Music Trust. This was the 30th year that this competition was sponsored by Johann Vos, who we are proud to say is chairperson of FMR’s Board. The…
19 Sep 2021 1 hr 56 min