The South African Literary Awards (SALA)

The South African Literary Awards (SALA) are administered by the wRite associates (R/A Lit Consultants: an events and project management company specialising in the arts, culture and heritage realm, with particular focus on the literary arts), in partnership with the South African Department of Arts and Culture (DAC). The awards aim to pay tribute to writers who have "distinguished themselves as groundbreaking producers and creators of literature". The awards recognise a variety of literary forms written in any of the South African official languages.

Today presenter Benjamin Moshatama spoke to Morokabe Raks Seakhoa, the project director of the SA literary Awards, Carol Campbell, the winner at the SALA awards in the first time published author category, Bishop M.T Makobe, winner in poetry in Sepedi language and Zukiswa Wanner who won the K. Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award category.
Loading player...